Tanja Székessy

Stage 2

tanja székessy

‘Robe Plisée’ from the Illusive 3 book.

Pencil, Photoshop (2009)

As much as I feel this piece would have looked more effective if it wasn’t so highly photoshop edited, I feel the idea behind it is great. The way the artist has tried to blend the girl into the bubbles is either poorly done or intentionally obvious where they meet and I feel if more layers were used over and around the seem between the girl and the end of her torso this piece would have worked a lot better. The idea of an image slowly breaking away and becoming particles is something that highly interests me however and the way the artist has done this is what interests me the most. The look of the piece gives me a very child based feel like it should be a piece of illustration in a children’s story book and would work well in this as it gives a fantasy appeal.

2 thoughts on “Tanja Székessy

  1. Hey how funny. Just found this and it made me smile. Photoshop is not such a mystery thing, so I just use it as a sketching tool. That’s why it looks like it looks. Cheers
    Tanja 🙂

    1. Hey Tanja, seeing this makes me feel extremely ashamed of my former self as the piece is amazing! This was part of artist research in my foundation year and it seems I was extremely naive as I look back! The way I expressed how I then felt about this piece was rude and with poor judgement so I have to apologise as looking back now I see so much more within it as a piece! I do however feel it would look amazing as a piece of illustration within children’s literature as the piece is very light hearted, expressive and can paint many stories! I am however amazed how an artist such as yourself would ever see something as low profile as this but I hope you appreciate the naive criticism I gave 2 years ago and don’t take it as truth!
      Matt (mill-uh-strey-tuh)

Leave a comment